Vice-Presidential Election At this time, Jagdeep Dhankhar Frontrunner: 10 Information

New Delhi:
The election to decide on the subsequent Vice-President of India is being held immediately, by which NDA candidate Jagdeep Dhankar is predicted to sail by means of with BJP help alone. Opposition’s Margaret Alva seems set to be a really distant second.

Listed here are 10 updates on this large story:

  1. The Vice-Presidential election is underway within the Parliament Home and can proceed until 5 pm immediately. Outcomes are seemingly later within the night. Prime Minister Narendra solid his vote simply because the polling sales space opened.

  2. Jagdeep Dhankhar — finest identified for his function as the previous Governor of Bengal — can count on 527 votes, far greater than the 372 required to win. Altogether it may very well be 70 per cent of the entire votes, two per cent greater than M Venkaiah Naidu obtained.

  3. The Electoral Faculty includes 780 MPs — 543 in Lok Sabha and 245 in Rajya Sabha. Leaving apart the eight vacant seats in Higher Home and the 36 MPs of Trinamool Congress, which determined to abstain from voting, 744 MPs are anticipated to vote.

  4. The NDA has 441 MPs, together with 394 of the BJP. 5 nominated members are additionally supporting the NDA candidate.

  5. Mr Dhankhar additionally has the help of a number of different non- NDA events – Naveen Patnaik’s Biju Janata Dal, Jaganmohan Reddy’s YSR Congress, Mayawati’s Bahujan Samaj Occasion, Chandrababu Naidu’s Telugu Desam Occasion, Akali Dal and the Eknath Shinde faction of the Shiv Sena. Collectively, they’ve 81 MPs.

  6. Margaret Alva can count on 26 per cent votes (round 200). She has the help of Congress, MK Stalin’s DMK, Lalu Yadav’s Rashtriya Janata Dal, Sharad Pawar’s Nationalist Congress Occasion and Akhilesh Yadav’s Samajwadi Occasion and the Left events.

  7. In addition to, the Jharkhand Mukti Morcha, Telangana Rashtra Samithi, Aam Aadmi Occasion and the 9 MPs of Shiv Sena’s Uddhav Thackeray faction are supporting Ms Alva

  8. Within the final election, Opposition candidate Gopalkrishna Gandhi obtained 32 per cent votes.

  9. On Friday, Mr Dhankhar attended a gathering with the BJP MPs in Delhi, the place a dummy voting was carried out.

  10. Underneath the system of proportional illustration by a single transferable vote, the elector has to mark preferences in opposition to the names of the candidates.

Add Comment